Can a dunk be goaltending?
“Strictly speaking, a dunk is considered as offensive goaltending, and this is why dunks were against regulations in the early days of the game. … If a player grabs the rim, and then dunks, that is illegal, but putting the ball directly through the hoop is in no way, and never has been, offensive goaltending.
Is it OK to goaltend?
11: Basket Interference – Goaltending. EXCEPTION: If a player near his own basket has his hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if his contact with the ball continues after the ball enters the cylinder, or if, in such action, he touches the basket. …
Can you offensive goaltend in basketball?
Offensive goaltending usually occurs when players attempt to get an offensive rebound. … Goaltending can also be called on the defense if the ball is touched after it makes contact with the backboard above the ring, regardless if the ball is in an upward or downward flight.
Is it goaltending if it hits the backboard?
The simple fact that a player touches the ball after it hits the backboard does not make it goaltending. b. The entire ball is above the level of the ring and has the possibility, while in flight, of entering the basket and is not touching the cylinder.
Can you goaltend a free throw?
In high school and NCAA basketball, if goaltending is called on a free throw, the shooting team is awarded one point and a technical foul is called against the offending player. … It is possible for a team to goaltend at the buzzer, although this is very rare.
What is the penalty for goaltending?
Penalty: If the violation is at the opponent’s basket, the offended team is awarded two points, if the attempt is from the two point zone and three points if it is from the three point zone.
What is considered a goaltend?
In basketball, goaltending refers to a rules violation in which a player interferes with a shot by touching the ball on its downward flight to the basket or while it is over, on, or within the rim of the basket.
Can you slap the ball in basketball?
Slapping or otherwise contacting the hand of a player in possession of the ball is only legal in two cases: When that part of the player’s hand touches the ball. For example, if only the fingertips touch the ball, then touching the offensive player’s hand anywhere else is a reach-in foul.
Can you goaltend after a foul?
If the foul is a shooting foul of any kind and allows for continuation it’s goaltending. If the foul is ruled on the floor and not a shooting foul of any kind than no.