Can you hit the ball with your knee in basketball?

Winners

Can you knee the ball in basketball?

No one intentionally moves the “nether regions” to get hit. The rule used to be “knee down” — it’s been any part of the leg for more than just a few years now. Quote: You intentionally moved your feet to “play defense on the ball” — that’s a violation.

Is punching the ball legal in basketball?

— A player is called for a violation if he punches the ball with with a closed fist. … The player from team A gets the ball and many yell for the backcourt call, but it is not a violation because once an offensive player shoots the ball there is no longer offensive team control.

Can we use legs in basketball?

“USE YOUR LEGS!” Whether it’s at the lowest levels or at the highest levels of play, this is a cliche that isn’t necessarily accurate. All great shooters use their legs when they shoot. It’s a question of sequence whether a player jumps very high or if a player barely jumps at all.

Can you kick basketball?

Both the NBA and NCAA rules prohibit intentional kicking of the basketball. The rules classify intentional kicking of the ball as a violation resulting in a dead ball and a stoppage in play.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What happened to Ky girls basketball coach?

Is it OK when dribbling a basketball to lose control of it?

A player who has already completed their dribble and puts both hands on the ball but doesn’t control it, accidentally drops or fumbles the ball, it touches the floor and the player regains control of it again by picking it up. This is perfectly legal and no violation has occurred.

What is not allowed in basketball?

Violations in basketball include travelling (taking more than one step without bouncing the ball), double dribble (picking the ball up dribbling, stopping then dribbling again with two hands), goaltending (a defensive player interferes with the ball travelling downwards towards the basket) and back court violation ( …

Can I use my head in basketball?

It is completely legal to head a ball, but like you said it’s not very advantageous. On the other hand, your statement about the kick ball is not true in every league. In the NBA and most leagues, you would be correct (to my knowledge), but in high school ball there has to be intent.

Why is dribbling two hands illegal?

Nothing in the rulebook that says a player cannot start a dribble with two hands. A dribble can end when touching both hands simultaneously, but a single dribble is OK as long as you catch the ball. There is no prohibition in the rules about starting a dribble with both hands.