Is a hop step legal in the NBA?

Why is the hop step not a travel?

Hop travel: When a player is taking their two steps, but doesn‘t goes left-right or right-left steps. Instead it’s an awkward left-left or right-right. This is a travel. LeBron d idnt jump stop or hop step when he was called for a travel.

Are you allowed 3 steps in the NBA?

At first glance, it sure looks like Harden is taking three steps before he scores the ball, which would be against the rules and should be whistled as a travel. But if you look at the NBA rule book and watch the play again, it’s pretty clear this isn’t traveling. It’s a totally legal move.

Can u hop step and pivot?

Basically, a hop step is considered to be a single step, as long as you leave on one foot. If you haven’t picked up the ball by the time you jump, you can pivot. If you pick up the ball in the midst of/before the first step that you jump from, you may not pivot.

Is Hop Step illegal?

However the case of so-called ‘Hop step’ has become violation as it is also a violation in the NBA. This means: A player may not touch the floor consecutively with the same foot or both feet after ending his dribble or gaining control of the ball.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How does weight affect basketball?

Why do NBA players take 3 steps?

EVIDENCE OF WHY “3 STEPS” ARE LEGAL:

You’re allowed 2 steps upon completion of a dribble, so if you dribble while pushing off of one foot it is not counted toward one of your 2 allowed steps.

Is a step back a travel?

At times, step-back jumper looks like a travel. Especially in real time rather than slow motion. Harden’s step-back jumper is an exception to the traveling rule. This is due to a section in the NBA rulebook that deals with traveling.

Can you jump stop then take a step?

According to the rule, if you do a 1-2 step, then the second foot to land becomes your pivot foot. You cannot take two steps after a 1-2 jump stop, but you can take one step if it is with the non-pivot foot.

Is a jump stop 1 or 2 steps?

The jump stop is executed by the player, who is on the run, taking one small step and then landing on both feet simultaneously in balance (not leaning forward). The jump stop can be used at the end of a dribble. … When receiving a pass with a jump stop, either foot can be used as the pivot foot.

When you hop step do you have to land on both feet?

Basicaly, does a “hop-step” require both feet to simultaneously hit the ground? if a player execute a 2-count jump-stop, he should land both feet simultaneously. if it is not a 2-count jump-stop, he can land both feet simultaneously on the 1st count, or one after another.

Can you take 2 steps then pivot?

a. A player who receives the ball while standing still may pivot, using either foot as the pivot foot. … A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Who led the NBA in scoring in 1998?

Can you land on the same foot in basketball?

The key point is that both feet must land simultaneously. The feet do not have to be the same distance from the basket and there is no limitation on the distance covered in the leap. However, if a player leaps off one foot, lands on the other, and then the first foot returns to the floor, it is a traveling violation.