Quick Answer: Can you goaltend a dunk?

Can you goaltend on a block?

Blocked Shots

A blocked shot is legal for a defender as long as the ball is not above the height of the rim or is falling down towards the rim. Goaltending often occurs when defenders try to block shots and do not get to the ball soon enough.

Can you touch the backboard in basketball?

According to the rules of basketball, if the ball hits the top of the backboard and goes over it is considered out of bounds. If it hits the top of the backboard and hits the support brackets it is out of bounds.

Is slapping the backboard goaltending?

Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul.

Why is a dunk not goaltending?

“Strictly speaking, a dunk is considered as offensive goaltending, and this is why dunks were against regulations in the early days of the game. … If a player grabs the rim, and then dunks, that is illegal, but putting the ball directly through the hoop is in no way, and never has been, offensive goaltending.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How high should your vertical be to dunk?

Is goaltending a foul in the NBA?

11: Basket Interference – Goaltending. EXCEPTION: If a player near his own basket has his hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if his contact with the ball continues after the ball enters the cylinder, or if, in such action, he touches the basket. …

What is the penalty for goaltending?

Penalty: If the violation is at the opponent’s basket, the offended team is awarded two points, if the attempt is from the two point zone and three points if it is from the three point zone.

Can you goaltend after a foul?

If the foul is a shooting foul of any kind and allows for continuation it’s goaltending. If the foul is ruled on the floor and not a shooting foul of any kind than no.

Can you catch your own airball?

Catching your own airball is allowed if it was a legitimate shot unless you’re playing your pickup game according to NBA rules, which makes you a douchebag. The top and side of the backboard is not out of bounds, only the back-facing plane of the backboard is. Step-throughs are not traveling.

Can you grab the rim before you dunk?

If you want to have a chance at dunking, you should be able to snap the rim down like this with some consistency. Careful, though: If you grab the rim but can’t get a grip, the momentum of your body could cause a violent spill.