Quick Answer: How are the NBA conferences divided?

How many divisions are there per conference in the NBA?

These are the 6 divisions in the NBA: Atlantic, Central, Southeast (Eastern Conference) and Northwest, Pacific, Southwest (Western Conference). In each of these divisions, 5 teams are split equally, fighting for the playoffs spots.

How are NBA games divided?

Each team has to play: 4 games against the other 4 division opponents (4×4=16 games) 4 games* against 6 (out-of-division) conference opponents (4×6=24 games) 3 games against the remaining 4 conference teams (3×4=12 games)

What is the difference between Eastern and Western Conference in NBA?

The Eastern Conference is one of two conferences that make up the National Basketball Association (NBA), the other being the Western Conference. Both conferences consist of 15 teams organized into three divisions.

Eastern Conference (NBA)

Sport Basketball
Formerly Eastern Division
Founded 1970
No. of teams 15

Do Eastern and Western Conference play each other?

The first two seasons used a playoffs format where Eastern and Western Division teams would face each other before the BAA Finals, hence there were no divisional finals. … Currently, the Conference Finals are played in a best-of-7 series like the NBA playoffs and Finals.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: How do you calculate a triple tie in basketball?

Do NBA divisions mean anything?

Today, playoff seeding is decided by conference standings, making divisions largely irrelevant. The only implication that persists is one additional regular season matchup. Divisions in the NBA are silly but they exist and are a factor when predicting win totals because you play those teams 16 times.

What division is heat in?

Does every NBA team play each other?

Do All NBA Teams Play Each Other Each Year? Yes. Though the total number of games differs from season to season, all NBA teams will play each other at least twice before the playoffs.

What are three divisions in NBA?

The league is divided up into two conferences, the Eastern Conference and the Western Conference. The Eastern conference has three divisions called Atlantic, Central, and Southeast. The Western conference also has three divisions, which are the Northwest, Pacific, and Southwest. Each division has 5 teams.

Does every NBA team played 82 games?

The league currently consists of thirty teams, of which twenty-nine are located in the United States and one in Canada. Each team plays 82 games in the regular season. Eight teams from each of the league’s two conferences qualify for the playoffs.

What does C mean in NBA standings?

CONF Standings DIV Standings. Eastern Conference. Western Conference. x – Clinched Playoffs Berth | e – Clinched Eastern Conference | a – Clinched Atlantic Division | c – Clinched Central Division.

Why is the NBA split into conferences?

Not every team could play each other due to the limited number of rounds, so conferences were introduced so that teams were only measured against the teams they played. The system was controversial because it allowed some weak teams to make finals, and strong teams from the other conference missed out on finals.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How did basketball come to Europe?

Is Lakers east or west?


Team Division From
Los Angeles Clippers Pacific Eastern Conference
Los Angeles Lakers Pacific Western Division
Memphis Grizzlies Southwest